top of page

When I Moved into a Church


I have always had a fascination with places of worship, whatever the religion. They tend to have vibe that naturally causes you to speak in hushed tones, and slow the pace of life. However, never in my life would I have predicted that one day I would end up working in one; albeit deconsecrated.

On leaving university, I quickly ended up working in the field of education, initially in a Comprehensive school. I loved working with children, but when the opportunity to teach my specific field of psychology came up at degree level, I couldn't turn it down. So began my long, and ongoing, time working for Swansea University.

As much as I love teaching, I always knew there was more I wanted to do. For a long while, I couldn't quite put my finger on it, but eventually the idea began to form. I wanted to study hypnotherapy.

I am interested in the formation of the different therapy types; how they are devised, how they develop, and how they rise and fall in favour. Hypnosis, and subsequently hypnotherapy, is a process that has been around for so long. Records show the Ancient Egyptians using hypnosis. Its appeal for me came from the sense that we were cutting out the metaphorical middle man; getting straight to the subconscious heart of the matter, as it were.

Cut forward several years, and I'm a practicing hypnotherapist, working from my home office (I won't lie, another massive appeal was not having to drive miles to work every day). It was great. I was getting clients, and despite having to give each one detailed directions to my off-the-beaten-path home, it seemed to be working. Yes, I spent half my life cleaning, making sure the place was client-ready, and yes, my neighbours chainsawing during sessions could be an issue. But, on the whole, I was happy.

And then we get a puppy. I figured I could train her to be quiet during sessions, and in her defence, she caught on quick. However, it wasn't proving the "work-from-home" ideal I'd envisaged. I've always had a home office and was used to working any time of the day or night. But, there is an extra pressure when you are inviting clients into your home that I simply hadn't predicted.

So, when Yoga Place Abertawe opened just down the road, offering wonderful therapy rooms, I found myself jumping on the phone.

The next thing I knew, I was walking around the beautiful old St John's church with the proprietor, Lisa, admiring the stained glass windows, the purpose-built therapy rooms, and the amazing old church organ (still working, not that I've been brave enough to try). I instantly felt at home. The place was perfect for my practice, and perfect for me. As a person who naturally takes my shoes off at any appropriate moment, the "shoe free" policy suited me down to the ground.

Built in response to the growing population in the area, the canal network, and the Mond nickel factory, the wonderful building remained a church for Welsh speakers, and then a community hall until 2006. After it closed it remained sadly empty until Yoga Place took on residence.

I have been here now, very nearly since the beginning of Yoga Place Abertawe, and am glad to say have been joined by a wonderful selection of therapists and yoga teachers. I get to work in the morning, throw my shoes in the cloakroom, and feel a sense of peace and calm that is perfect for my professional aims. My clients are naturally calmed, even before they step into my room. Everyone feels at home, comfortable. It facilitates my work, yes, makes my job easier.

If you had asked me in my student years where I would end up, the last answer I would give would be "In a church", but I'm very, very happy I'm here.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page